Grannies Gift

One of the hardest things for me ever has always been getting gifts for my parents and grandparents. How do you get something for someone that has everything? When I was younger I would make cards and draw silly things on them but as a 22 year old giving a handmade card doesn’t hold as much value. What do you think?Finished Product

I started thinking that it had been quite some time since I had put together something for my grandma. I saw an idea on Pintrest and I thought I had to do it but in my own way. Here was my inspiration for my project.

http://www.pinterest.com/pin/229191068509960161/

Image

 

 

 

I spent just around 30 dollars in supplies at Michaels to make my version of it. I decided for a St. Patty’s theme because my grandma is 100% Irish!

 

The supplies that were needed for this project are the following:

Directions

  1. I started out by painting the base of the plaque the light green color and around the edges the darker green color. Let it dry.
  2. Drill holes in the circles and the hearts. You will need a hole in the the top and the bottom of each. Drilling the holes in the hearts I found a little easier because it was easy to make the holes directly across from one another. The symmetry of the drill holes do not have to be perfect but they need to be pretty accurate for the wooden circles to fall straight. Here’s a picture of me with the drill. You will need to be careful when drilling the holes to not get too close to the edge because the circles can break. (You can see in the top left circle)
    DrillCircles
  3. Once you are done drill the circles it is time to paint the circles. I picked that all of the grandparents would be in gold, parents in light green, grandchildren in dark green, great-grandchildren in gold, and anniversaries/hearts in pink. You will need to paint both sides
    Painting circles
  4. Once the circles are dry you will need to write the names on the circles. I used sharpie to do this. I tried paint but I found that it was too difficult and found that there was a loss of clarity. If I were to do the project again I would write the names on both sides of the circles because the circles do flip and turn.
    names on circles
  5. Finally I decided to design/paint the front of the panel. I used a cookie cutter to get the outline of the shamrocks. I think you could really print out something and trace it on there to get it even.
  6. I decided to write the months on with sharpie. That was a really hard decision for me to make. I first tried paint but it just wasn’t turning out right. I thought about using stickers but that would’ve really added to the cost of the project so I decided against it. My pretty little sister wrote them on for me. I also used a ruler to make sure that my months were evenly spaced out.Months
  7. The very hardest part was designing the font for the family name. I used adobe Photoshop. I used it to see how large  I should make the letters and keep the spacing even. This is not a necessary step but I think it really made it special. I also googled Celtic font and downloaded it for me to use in Photoshop. I printed it out and traced it on the board. I started painting the lettering on. I ended up doing two coats of gold.
    Tracingstart of letteringLettering finished
  8. Next step is to start connecting the circles & hearts in order of the months. This was actually alot harder than I thought it would be. I didnt really have the proper tools. If I do the project again I would buy them. I decided to do a pattern of “big ring- little ring- big ring- circle”. You really could do whatever pattern you wanted but I found it too difficult to get the rings through two circles.
    Rings
  9. The next step after you have all of the circles and hearts connected is to add the eye hooks to the plaque. This honestly was the hardest part of the project for me. I didn’t have the strength to push the eye hooks in by hand. I could have used a drill to make those holes but luckily I have a cutie boyfriend to do it for me.
    first row of ringsfinished
  10. I still haven’t given the gift to my grandma yet. But I am planning on giving it to her when I see her at Easter.
    All Finshed
    I hope you enjoyed my blog. If you have any suggestions of what could make the project better or what you did differently please share. What gifts have you given to parents/grandparents that they have really enjoyed?
Leave a Reply

