Sensory Deprivation Tank yay or nay?!?

Image

I like to think of myself as pretty outgoing and adventurous. This past week I found a Groupon for a Sensory Deprivation Tank. I thought it sounded pretty interesting and since my job has been so stressful lately, I figured I would try it out. I bought the Groupon and surprised my boy with a appointment this past Tuesday.

The picture above (not mine I found it on google) pretty much shows what its all about. How it works: you get inside this coffin like contraption thats filled with about 10″ of water and epson salt and just float. Theres a door on the top that you are supposed to close and you can’t see anything. The whole point of the experience is to remove all of your senses (sight, touch, smell…) and bring you back to like when you are in your mothers womb.

This was a major nay for me for many reasons. First of all it was really scary getting in the tank. Theres not much to hold on inside and you can’t really see whats in there. When you are inside you have to close the door on yourself. Its actually semi heavy to lift once your inside because theres nothing really to hold onto. I really freaked myself out and left the lid open and it made the water really cold. I actually ended up stressing myself out more than I relaxed myself.

Overall Sensory Deprivation Tank is a major NAY for me. But hey, nothing wrong with trying something once right?

Leave a Reply

